Good read

Photofocus (old site)

Many of you contacted me after I wrote my post about the Olympus EP3 and my excitement over their addition of two stellar prime lenses, the 12 and the 45 respectively. The questions often revolved around why I wasn’t more excited about zoom lenses.

For those who are new, a prime lens is merely a fixed focal length lens. It just means that unlike your 70-200 mm lens that allows you to use focal lengths between 70mm and 200mm, a prime lens will only shoot at a fixed length. Some common prime lens lengths are 24mm, 35mm 50mm, 85mm, 100 mm, 200mm, etc.

Here’s a rundown of some of the advantages prime lenses have over zooms from my point of view.

1. Prime lenses tend to be “faster” than zooms. What I mean by that is that they have a larger aperture (lower f-stop number) and allow more light into…

View original post 139 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

